# MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF DOUGLAS COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

# 28-0015, a/k/a, DOUGLAS COUNTY WEST COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

Monday, February 11, 2019

The regular meeting of the Board of Education, District #15, in the County of Douglas, in the State of Nebraska, was convened in open and public session on Monday, February 11, 2019, at the High School Library, 401 South Pine Street, Valley, NE 68064-0378.

Following public notification procedures approved by the Board of Education, February 14, 2011, in adherence to 84-1411, notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by posting such Notice on the exterior front door of the high school, elementary school, middle school, Valley City Hall, First Nebraska Bank, and Foundation First Bank. Notice of the meeting was simultaneously given to all members of the Board of Education. Availability of the agenda was communicated in advance notice and in the notice to the Board of Education of the meeting. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Jeff Clauson: Present
Kelly Hinrichs: Present
Luke Janke: Present
Jamie Jorgensen: Present
Elizabeth Mayer: Present
Patrick McCarville: Present

#### 1. Call to Order

The agenda, listing items for consideration by the Board, is on file in the Superintendent's office. Other matters may come before the Board and the Board has the right to modify the agenda before the meeting.

President Kelly Hinrichs called the regular meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Dr. Hinrichs noted the Open Meetings Act was posted in the corner of the High School Library for public review.

## 2. Public Communications and Correspondence

No comments or correspondence.

#### 3. Approval of Agenda

Motion to approve agenda as presented passed with a motion by Luke Janke and a second by Jamie Jorgensen.

Jeff Clauson: Yea, Kelly Hinrichs: Yea, Luke Janke: Yea, Jamie Jorgensen: Yea,

Elizabeth Mayer: Yea, Patrick McCarville: Yea

#### 4. Administrative Reports

#### 4.1. Superintendent's Report

# 4.2. Financial Report

#### 5. Consent Agenda

Motion to approve Consent Agenda passed with a motion by Elizabeth Mayer and a second by Jeff Clauson.

Jeff Clauson: Yea, Kelly Hinrichs: Yea, Luke Janke: Yea, Jamie Jorgensen: Yea,

Elizabeth Mayer: Yea, Patrick McCarville: Yea

Yea: 6, Nay: 0

#### 5.1. Approve Minutes Regular Meeting Date: Special Meeting Date:

# 5.2. Approve Claims for Payment

#### **5.3. Approve Financial Report**

#### **5.4. Approve Classified Staff**

Changes in classified positions:

Lisa Hert, Food Service, passed away.

Hired in replacement of Lisa's hours: Virgil Adams and Denise Bundy

#### 6. Old Business

#### **6.1. New Elementary Update**

Alex Henery, Project Manager from Tetrad, updated the Board on the progress and overall budget of the new elementary project.

#### 7. New Business

#### 7.1. Approve Certificated Staff Retirements and Resignation

Approval of the following retirements or resignations:

- Sandy Perry, Director of Assessment/HAL Teacher, retiring
- Joni Bartek, Title 1 Teacher, retiring
- McKayla Henery, High School Science Teacher, resigning

Motion to approve the retirements of Sandy Perry and Joni Bartek, and the resignation of McKayla Henery at the end of the 2018-19 school year passed with a motion by Patrick McCarville and a second by Luke Janke.

Jeff Clauson: Yea, Kelly Hinrichs: Yea, Luke Janke: Yea, Jamie Jorgensen: Yea,

Elizabeth Mayer: Yea, Patrick McCarville: Yea

#### 7.2. Approve Early Retirement Incentive Program Applications

There are three employees who are retiring and are eligible for the Early Retirement Incentive Program (ERIP). The following applications need approval by the Board of Education:

Paula Grinvalds Gib Hall Joan Bartek

Motion to approve the Early Retirement Incentive Program (ERIP) for Paula Grinvalds, Gib Hall, and Joan Bartek passed with a motion by Kelly Hinrichs and a second by Elizabeth Mayer.

Jeff Clauson: Yea, Kelly Hinrichs: Yea, Luke Janke: Yea, Jamie Jorgensen: Yea,

Elizabeth Mayer: Yea, Patrick McCarville: Yea

Yea: 6, Nay: 0

# 7.3. Approve Certificated Staff Positions

The administration recommended the following certificated staff position transition and addition:

- Approve retirement of 1.0 FTE Assessment Director/HAL teacher with 18 additional days (Sandy Perry current position)
- Replace with 1.0 FTE Director of Learning (District Administrator) and .5 FTE Elementary Reading/Math/Science HAL teacher/coordinator

The Director of Learning position grows from a need in the district for general administration including the development and improvement of the curriculum, the improvement of instruction, professional development programs, accreditation, state and federal assessment and reporting, and other duties as assigned by the Superintendent.

In order to maintain and grow the High Ability Learner (HAL) Program in the elementary and expand to serving reading, math, and science the administration recommended a

.5 FTE position solely focused on HAL in the elementary school.

The additional cost to the district will be approximately the cost of .5 FTE of a negotiated contract employee for the HAL position.

Motion to approve the Director of Learning and .5 FTE Elementary HAL positions for the 2019- 20 school year passed with a motion by Patrick McCarville and a second by Kelly Hinrichs.

Jeff Clauson: Yea, Kelly Hinrichs: Yea, Luke Janke: Yea, Jamie Jorgensen: Yea,

Elizabeth Mayer: Yea, Patrick McCarville: Yea

### 7.4. Approval of the 2018 DC West Annual Report

The Board received a copy of the 2018 Annual Report which will be printed and mailed to all postal patrons in the DC West Community Schools.

Motion to approve the 2018 Annual Report as presented passed with a motion by Kelly Hinrichs and a second by Jamie Jorgensen.

Jeff Clauson: Yea, Kelly Hinrichs: Yea, Luke Janke: Yea, Jamie Jorgensen: Yea,

Elizabeth Mayer: Yea, Patrick McCarville: Yea

Yea: 6, Nay: 0

# 8. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn meeting at 7:20 pm passed with a motion by Jeff Clauson and a second by Elizabeth Mayer.

Jeff Clauson: Yea, Kelly Hinrichs: Yea, Luke Janke: Yea, Jamie Jorgensen: Yea,

Elizabeth Mayer: Yea, Patrick McCarville: Yea

Sabina Safford, Board Secretary
Dr. Melissa Poloncic, Superintendent